NHL Individual Awards Predictions

At the end of every NHL season, there are awards handed out to an individual or teams  outstanding performances. These include the Vezina Trophy. Hart Memorial Trophy, and Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy. This article will show our predictions for each of the individual awards that will be handed out in Las Vegas this June.

First time winners

Past winner

Won multiple awards

Connor McDavid is our front runner for the Hart trophy, he has played very well leading his team in points, which is also second in the entire NHL. This only being his first full NHL season as he missed half of last season with a shoulder injury.

Brent Burns is one of the most respected players in the NHL which is why we picked him to win the Lady Byng. He is a highly skilled offensive defenseman ranked third in the NHL in points, which is also why we predict him winning the Ted Lindsay award.

Goaltender Devan Dubnyk was almost out of professional hockey in 2015, but has had a rebirth in Minnesota since arriving during the 2014-15 season. He just recently played in the NHL all-star game and is one of the bright spots for the Wild. He should be nominated at least for the Vezina if he doesn’t win it.

Number one overall pick in the 2016 NHL draft, Auston Matthews is having a great rookie campaign leading the young Toronto team in the Atlantic division who hold a playoff spot for now. He is the leading point scorer among rookies and should easily win the Calder.

Sidney Crosby is back on track and once again is looking like the best player in the NHL. He currently leads the NHL in goals and in points. He currently sits at 999 career points. Picking him to win the Art Ross and “Rocket” Richard trophies was a no brainer.

This is a long shot in most people’s eyes, but we have picked Rasmus Ristolainen to win the Norris Trophy. He is the Sabres’ best defenseman in only his 3rd full season. He plays close to 23 minutes a game and helps quaterback the Sabres number one ranked powerplay in the league. If he doesn’t win this, he should at least be a finalist.

Jaromir Jagr is the ageless wonder of the NHL, he is 44 years old and says he could play until he’s 50. He won the Bill Masterson last year and should win it again this year.






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s